Winterskin Wonders

The cold is slowly passing and as I am writing this I can see the sun shining through my window. Winter (and the period as it comes to an end) for me marks a time where I am battling dryness on every aspect. With all the wind (and the fact that I dye my hair) my hair gets dry and the split-ends seem to double every second. My legs bear incredible resemblance to the driest desert (cracks and all) and my face is just not as elastic as I would like it to be. Luckily for us we are alive in a time where all these incredible people have invented several options to battle these dry spots. So today I want to share with you my favourite products to battle winterskin.

_dsc0319

Body:
Like I wrote above, my body gets really dry during the winter and my legs are not a pretty sight to look at during these times. While everyone probably has bodylotion lying around, or if you are like me somewhere around 15 bottles, not every bodylotion has the same effect. If I am dealing with extreme dry skin I prefer using The Body Shop products for my body not only are they mostly natural (I know The Body Shop is owned by L’Oréal) but their body products are one of the few that actually help hydrate my skin. Often it just feels as if I am rubbing in product without any actual purpose. The Body Shop’s Body Butter’s have a soft feel, are nice and rich (which is why I prefer putting them on before I go to bed) and they have such a divers range of scents that I doubt you would be unable to find one to suit your preferences.

_dsc0338

My favourite fragrance is the Papaya one and as you can tell from the above picture… sadly I have used the whole lot. I believe this one was a limited edition but nonetheless it is one of my favourites. Other fragrances I can definitely recommend are MoringaMangoShea and Coconut. They retail for about €16,- which is pretty pricy but so worth every penny.

Weleda Skin Food:
This product is also entirely natural which in the case of Weleda products sadly means that they do not smell as nice as for instance The Body Shop products. However, I have very dry elbows and what appears to be eczema. A little from this tiny tube helps hydrate my skin so much and makes the red spots fade. While the product does not smell as good, the smell does not last too long because of its all-natural composition. This product retails at €5,99 and a little goes a long way. I would recommend letting the skin air a bit after applying because it is such a rich product.

_dsc0345

Hair:
The first product I want to mention in this categorie is the H’Suan Wen Hua Hairmask by Lush. I have written about this mask before and while I am also not particularly fond of the smell of this mask it really does work wonders for my hair. I needed a mask that would help keep my hair hydrated while not making it greasy. Because I have really greasy hair but also battle with having it dyed, it can be hard to find products which help balance both sides. I will probably try another mask the next time I visit Lush (I have finished this container as well) but I do really like it. I prefer to use a mask every other week and when my ends are really dehydrated I leave it in for the night with a towel wrapped around my head and rinse it out in the morning. This mask costs around €13,- if I remember correctly which to me is a good deal considering that my Guhl mask, which is also one of my favourites, is only  €2,- cheaper and I do believe the Lush one lasts longer.

_dsc0331

Etos Hair Care Serum:
I wash my hair once or twice a week in order to avoid, having dull hair two weeks after I have refreshed the colour. I do notice that my hair needs a little more hydration after I wash it which is why I prefer to use a serum afterwards. The reason why I use a serum rather than an hair oil product has to do with the fact that a serum is not as oily (duh) as using oil. Like I mentioned before, my hair gets greasy pretty fast and now that I cannot wash it every other day I need something that will keep it hydrated but not make it greasy. I currently use the Etos Hair Care Serum which is a little more oily than the John Frieda one I used before but it comes at a much friendlier price. I believe this product retails at €4,99 and a little goes an incredible long way. Another big plus is the smell. If you find yourself using a serum try to avoid the roots to prevent your hair from becoming greasy instantly. I use one small pump and then spread the product through the lower half of my hair.

_dsc0357

Face:
Finally, the product which I love using for my face. I have written about this product before as well here but I still stand by what I wrote then. I like using five drops of the L’Oréal Extraordinary Oil on my face before applying my daycream/fluid. The reason why I prefer this method instead of just using a thicker daycream has to do with my disliking for having a daycream that does not absorb fast into my skin. The oil does not make my skin greasy at all but it does provide that extra hydration that my skin just needs during the winter period. For an entire review I would suggest clicking the link I provided above. This product retails at €19,39 which is quite a lot but you only use a little. I have had mine since late October and I have not even used 1/4 of the bottle.

_dsc0347

I hope you liked this post and enjoyed reading my tips to prevent or battle winterskin. Do you have any products which you love to use when your skin is incredibly dry? Let me know!

Love,
Nica

2 thoughts on “Winterskin Wonders

  1. charandtheweb says:

    15 bottles of body lotion? Sound like someone I know haha. It’s really trial and error, isn’t it. And in my case it often ends in error. I’m obsessed with Lush’s Dream Cream and Kiehl’s Creme de Corps (this one is a bit pricy but OH-MY-GOD so worth it). I’ve heard many great things about the Body Shop though. In terms of facial moisturizers I love Simple and Lush as well. I’d definitely recommend Simple’s “Kind To Skin Hydrating Light Moisturizer” and Lush’s “Vanishing Cream”. A little goes a long way for both.

    Loving this post by the way. Would you be interested in sharing your beauty tips and tricks on our platform, Creators.co? I’d love to hear from you and give you some more information. Just give me a shoot! All the best!

    Liked by 1 person

    • nicadoubleyou says:

      It really is! Then of course there are the bottles that have an amazing smell but really don’t do anything for your skin so they just lay around forever and ever. Thanks for sharing your favourite products with me! Will definitely check them out!

      Thanks for the love! That surely does sound interesting! Would you mind sending me more info through the contact form on my website? Once again thanks for the love!

      Like

Leave a Reply

