A Quick and Easy Make-up Look

I have posted a lot already about make-up and the products which I use and love. So today I want to share with you an easy and quick look that I created for this blog. I follow a lot of talented beauty bloggers and vloggers on Instagram and what not and while I will probably never be able to create the masterpieces they make I still think that easy make-up looks should not be overlooked.

img_9513

Above you will find most of the products which I used for this look. Now this is my easy and quick routine but you can always add or leave certain steps out. What is most important is that you feel comfortable in your own skin and that you are happy with the look you created.

img_9519

So this is my just out of bed face (or as we would say in Dutch: mijn blote billen gezicht) and I want to quickly point out that I found it extremely awkward to take this many selfies. Also the quality of the pictures are not that great, my excuse in advance. I took all of these photos with my iPhone.

img_9520

So before I start off I make sure that my skin is nice and clean. I like to use Qiriness Gold Softening Toning Lotion to clean my skin in the morning and as a final step before putting my night cream on when I go to bed. It smells really nice and is really soft on my skin. The price is not so friendly, somewhere around €20,- you can order it here or buy it at Ici Paris XL. After my skin is clean I use 5 drops of L’Oréal Extraordinary Oil to hydrate my skin just a little extra. Finally, I end with my Nivea Hydrating Day creme and using circular motions to rub it in my skin.

img_9525

Which leaves my skin all glowly like this (I really hate this picture though).

img_9522

Before going to the make-up I use a bit of Blistex Daily Lip Conditioner on my lips to make sure that my lips are soft when I finish with a nice shade of lipstick.

img_9523

I start off with one drop of Etos Smoothing Primer which ensures that all my foundation will be spread evenly if certain parts of my skin are more dry or hydrated than other parts. I really love this product because it makes my skin feel incredibly soft. However, a bottle does not last very long in my opinion (I did have an awkward photo after this step but I have decided to skip it, many more awkward photos to come).

img_9526

I then apply two drops of Max Factor Lasting Performance in the colour 101 Ivory Beige with my Real Techniques Buffing Brush. Which leaves my skin looking like … *drumroll please*

img_9527

While my skin is not that bad or anything, I like to use foundation to block out the redness. My skin is so light that literally everything will show. This is also the reason why I used two dots of foundation instead of just one. To create a little more coverage.

img_9528

Because I am not creme contouring or anything I set the foundation with my Rimmel Stay Matte Long Lasting Pressed Powder in the colour Peach Glow. I absolutely love Rimmel’s face products. This is definitely my favourite compact powder. I use my Etos Powder Brush to gently dab it on.

img_9529

Told you there would be more awkward selfies!

img_9531

I then move onto the eyes. Starting off with my Etos Illuminating Eyeshadow Primer which ensures my eyeshadow does not wander off during the day. A little goes a long way and it is really soft, love it! I then use the fourth colour in the Etos Eyeshadow Palette in the colour Bed of Roses to shape my crease. I do this with my M.A.C. 217 brush which is really soft and perfect for getting shades nice and blended in your crease. I then use the third colour to deepen the outer edges of my eyelids up until the middle and finally use the first colour in the inner corners of my eyes. This leaves a nice and natural look.

img_9534

It is kind of hard to tell from this photo but you will see the eyeshadow popping up in later photo’s.

img_9535

I then move onto the brows. Now a lot of people like to do the brows first and I have to say that normally I do shape them a little earlier. However, because this is a simple look I do not really think it matters that much. I use the Sleek Brow Kit in Dark for my brows in this look. I first outline them using my Etos Brow Brush and the dark creamy product. I then fill them further in with the powder and finally use a spoolie to make sure the product is evenly distributed. I did cheat a bit an corrected tiny mistakes using a concealer and a small flat foundation brush.

img_9537

My brows look kind of intens at this moment but do not worry, it gets better. I did follow the natural shape of my brows, doing brows is hard enough by itself. Let’s not complicate it even further.

img_9539

I could not resist using my NYX Highlight & Contour Pro Palette. I have had it for quite a while now but I have not had the time yet, until yesterday, to take any pictures of it for Wednesday Reviews so I could not open it yet. Now that those photos are out of the way I had to try it. I used the third bronzer as my contour shade because it is the lightest and also the coolest colour in the bronzer range. I only defined my cheekbones and the shape of my face, no full face contouring. I used the fourth colour of the highlighting range on my cheekbones and on my brow bone.

img_9540

Tada! So many selfies in and it is still not less awkward…

img_9541

I wanted my blush to look very subtle which is why I used the Kiko Blush Cocoa Shock in Silky Rose and Mauve and went with the Mauve tint.

img_9542

You can probably not even tell I’m wearing it on the photo because it is really subtle. It is also because I can get really red and wearing too much blush will only emphasize that .

img_9554

I used L’Oréal Volume Million Lashes in Fatale on my lashes which is really nice and basic mascara but gives great volume.

img_9545

I always leave my mascara as one of my final steps because it completely transforms a look.

img_9555

And finally, I finish my look with one of my favourite M.A.C lipsticks in Velvet Teddy. I really love this colour because it is so subtle but yet extremely pretty.

img_9546

Which brings us to the final look. I am very happy with the result and I hope you guys liked this mini tutorial. I made the deliberate choice to use cheaper products because I do not think high-end products are needed to create a everyday look. I prefer using cheaper products for everyday looks because I like to use my high end stuff for when I create more extravagant looks. Let me know what you think and are there any things you would have done differently?

Love,
Nica

 

2 thoughts on “A Quick and Easy Make-up Look

Leave a Reply

