Wednesday Reviews #4

In the previous weeks I’ve been writing about products which I absolutely love. There was the stain treatment, the highlighting palette and the eyeshadow palette. But this week it will be about two products which I absolutely hate. I know that hate is a strong word but the only good thing about these products is that they smell good. If you’re curious which products I’m referring to be sure to read on.

TheBodyshop

About three and a half weeks ago I dyed my hair red. I’m absolutely in love with the colour but as most people will know it is difficult to maintain due to its brightness. To keep your hair healthy and hydrated and to maintain the colour it is always recommended to use a special shampoo and conditioner because otherwise your hair will turn dull in no time. These shampoos and conditioners often protect your hair by putting a thin layer over your hair strands and thus preventing the hair from being damaged. The risk is that your hair can get really oily if you don’t use a good shampoo and conditioner. My hair has always been a bit oily and I have a very sensitive scalp. So while I’ve always been very positive about the Elvive shampoo which I normally use I started to get a bit of dandruff and thus decided to see if there was a more natural option.

I’ve always been very positive about The Body Shop and their products. In fact their bodyproducts are the only ones which actually hydrate my skin. After the whole out-to-dinner-by-myself-incident (which you can read about hereThe Body Shop was one of the stores I went to. I asked one of the girls for advice and she recommended I’d use the anti-dandruff shampoo and conditioner. This was quite suprising to me because it is basic knowledge that using anti-dandruff shampoo on dyed hair will make the colour fade. She said that their shampoo was very mild but I still wasn’t convinced, I wasn’t going to risk getting an all flat hair colour. So I went with their The Body Shop Rainforest Radiance line which is especially for coloured hair. I hoped this would be the answer to my troubles because the product is supposed to be free from parabens, silicons and colourants.

85038m_z

The product smells really great and I was really excited to try it. The first time I washed my hair with it was quite late at night so I went to sleep with my hair wet. I know that my hair will turn out greasy sometimes if it isn’t completely dry. So I knew I was taking a risk. I woke up with extremely greasy hair. It felt really nasty, but knowing that this sometimes happens I gave the products the benefit of the doubt. I decided to wash it again that same morning (I had to go a family party, I couldn’t show up with greasy hair!). Yeah… that did not work at all. In fact my hair became even more oily… It had gotten quite nasty I actually did not want to touch it so I just put it up in a pony tail.

85044m_z

The reason why I use these special shampoos and conditioners is to prevent my hair from getting really oily. The idea is that they protect your hair and thus you won’t have to wash it as often which helps maintaining the hair colour. Now I’ve had to wash my hair three times in a two day span… But it is not just that, the shampoo actually made the red fade. So I’m not just stuck with greasy hair but also faded hair…

Conclusion:
While I love The Body Shop and their products I will definitely be returning this shampoo and conditioner to the store. I spent quite a lot of money on these products considering that we’re talking about a shampoo and conditioner… I did expect some quality but was severely let down. If you are looking for a good shampoo and conditioner for dyed hair I would recommend the L’oreal Elvive Color Vive line. This line does not make the hair greasy and really helps with maintaining the colour.

Do you have any special products which you like to use for your hair and if so which ones? I hope you liked this review and be sure to let me know what you think.

Love,
Nica

Leave a Reply

